Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Box / Folder CBT01
Folder Scope & Content Congregation Beth Tefilah Synagogue Records
Collection Congregation Beth Tefilah Collection
Collection Location Special Collections & University Archives
Series Organizational Records
Dates of Accumulation 1969, 1975 - 1998
Description Congregation Beth Tefilah, Community Synagogue of San Diego.

Congregation Beth Tefilah was founded in 1962. It was the first permanent East County conservative congregation. Its founding directors were Aaron Kolkey, Robert Kolkey, Arthur Bressman, Eugene Janoff, Dr. Earl Richmond, William Wayne, Irving Coleman, Robert Kipnis, Irving Krantz, Morris Cahan, Abraham Sandler, Louis Sander, Marilyn Frankel, Rose Fischbein, Abe Wilks, Isaak Abramowitz. Bert Schloss was the first president and Marilyn Frankel was the secretary. The first rabbi was Rabbi Lawton and the first permanent rabbi was Sidney Rappaport who came in 1963. In 1971 their synagogue building was dedicated at 69th St, just off El Cajon Blvd in San Diego. In 1999 the congregation merged with Adat Ami Synagogue to become Ohr Shalom Synagogue.

(CBT) - Congregation Beth Tefilah - Records, papers and photographs of Congregation Beth Tefilah Synagogue.